WeLoveCSS Logo
Home Profile Members Search Rules Help New Posts



WeLoveCSS > WEB DESIGN > Browser Compatibility > IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

Reply
  Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th August 13, 08:26 AM   #1
Neji
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

Hi,

I'm coding a website for a client and I've done a pure CSS dropdown menu but just getting one tiny problem in IE8 and IE9.

Basically, it's working pretty well but sometimes the drop down menu just closes when scrolling down over the individual links - there's a slight gap between the links and it's when you're over one of them that it closes.

Curiously, if you scroll down fast enough and get your cursor to the second+ link then the menu works perfectly.

I'm not sure if I explained that so well, here's a link with the issue:

http://harehills.very-dev.co.uk/

Any help would be great.
Neji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 13, 10:45 PM   #2
meesa
WLC Mod
 
meesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 3,710
Default Re: IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

Unable to replicate. Did you get this fixed?
__________________
Praise be to the Lord God for the ability to learn, the capability to analyze, and the time to help users on this forum.
meesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 13, 05:23 AM   #3
Neji
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

No, afraid not.

I tend to see this issue when I scroll over 'curriculum' first, if you do that then slowly move your cursor down you should see the same thing.
Neji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 13, 05:47 AM   #4
meesa
WLC Mod
 
meesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 3,710
Default Re: IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

Tested in IE6-11, and I can't duplicate the issue. Try clearing your cache.
__________________
Praise be to the Lord God for the ability to learn, the capability to analyze, and the time to help users on this forum.
meesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 13, 05:59 AM   #5
Neji
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

Cache has been cleared many times

It was actually my client that noticed this so it's not just isolated to my computer. Are you using the actual browsers to test with or the rendering modes in IE?

As I said, the trick to re-creating is to hover over curriculum, once the dropdown menu shows just slowly move your cursor down over the links. Once you've cleared the first link in the menu (Standard and Achievements) the menu should close when you cursor is in the small gap between 'Standards and Achievements' and 'Pupil Premium'. The cursor should change from pointer to arrow when you're in the right place.

I'll test again once I get to my VM machine.

Thanks for taking a look, appreciate your time.
Neji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 13, 03:29 PM   #6
Neji
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: IE8/9 Dropdown Menu

Well, not sure what I did but it appears you were right. I've tried to replicate this again today but haven't been able to do so. I'll liaise with my client and see if either of us still gets the problem.

Thanks again.
Neji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 AM.



Home | Advertise | Contact Us | Top
Home | Advertise | Contact Us | Top

Copyrightę 2006 WeLoveCSS.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.4 Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.