WeLoveCSS Logo
Home Profile Members Search Rules Help New Posts



WeLoveCSS > WEB DESIGN > Browser Compatibility > [SOLVED] Opera and Textboxes

Reply
  Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th March 11, 01:54 AM   #1
Crypted Mind
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default Opera and Textboxes

Hello Everyone,
I am facing a problem with opera where textboxes are appearing smaller than the actual size, i've been away from web development for a year now and i am still refreshing my memory, any help will be appreciated

Website with the problem:
http://www.dark-hack.net/246573/

Textbox is located in the Contact page !
Crypted Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 11, 05:21 PM   #2
meesa
WLC Mod
 
meesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 3,715
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

Make life easy for yourself, forget using cols and rows for a textbox, and just give it a width and height via CSS.

Also, your link just shows a black page in IE8.
__________________
Praise be to the Lord God for the ability to learn, the capability to analyze, and the time to help users on this forum.
meesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 11, 10:41 PM   #3
Crypted Mind
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

Thanks Messa for your response, i will give that a try and for the blank page in IE yeah i know, i am working with compatibility now and the online version is a 2 days old version now, i fixed that problem earlier but thanks for the heads up

After testing

Same problem nothing changed except a few pixels in the textbox itself, and also there's a difference (1 pixel) in a specific div which breaks my whole iframe page in all browsers except for IE and Firefox !

Last edited by Crypted Mind; 19th March 11 at 11:41 PM.
Crypted Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 11, 03:16 AM   #4
meesa
WLC Mod
 
meesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 3,715
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

Quote:
the online version is a 2 days old version
Don't expect us to be able to help if you're not giving us your current code. Keep your site updated whenever asking for help.

When you tell me that your site is updated, I'll take a look. And why are you using an iFrame?
__________________
Praise be to the Lord God for the ability to learn, the capability to analyze, and the time to help users on this forum.
meesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 11, 07:44 AM   #5
Crypted Mind
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

First of all i uploaded my website on a test directory to test functionality and also because my ajax framework hates local host, the uploaded version has the issue and also the local version has the same issue, when i updated the local version i didn't touch the place where the problem resides because how could i ask for help in something doesn't exist or even heavily modified anyway i fixed the problem by wrapping the textbox inside a div with width and high, i gave the textbox dimensions in CSS and i left cols and rows properties un-touched, i hope this could help anyone with the same problem, Thanks a lot meesa for your effort and time and have a great day

P.S: I use dynamic iframes loaded via ajax and jquery because i want my whole website static except for the content part, i know it's bad for SEO but i fixed that already too
Crypted Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 11, 04:43 PM   #6
meesa
WLC Mod
 
meesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 3,715
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

Quote:
P.S: I use dynamic iframes loaded via ajax and jquery because i want my whole website static except for the content part, i know it's bad for SEO but i fixed that already too
Ever heard of position:fixed?
__________________
Praise be to the Lord God for the ability to learn, the capability to analyze, and the time to help users on this forum.
meesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 11, 02:33 AM   #7
Crypted Mind
WLC Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

Quote:
Ever heard of position:fixed?
Actually i am using position:fixed a lot in this exact project but is it gonna stop my header, the whole right navigation and the footer from reloading every-time a user decides to navigate to another page if yes then you've just invented a new CSS !
Crypted Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 11, 02:50 AM   #8
Phreaddee
WLC Lover
 
Phreaddee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 768
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

hi. is it really meant to look like this?


this is in safari.

doesnt look good.
Phreaddee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 11, 02:53 AM   #9
Phreaddee
WLC Lover
 
Phreaddee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 768
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

you might want to get rid of / move
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> from BEFORE the doctype as well...
Phreaddee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 11, 03:06 AM   #10
meesa
WLC Mod
 
meesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 3,715
Default Re: Opera and Textboxes

No, the user's cache does that. Besides, if they press the back button, it doesn't take them back when using an iFrame.

Dan, that's right where that line goes Perfectally acceptable in XHTML.
__________________
Praise be to the Lord God for the ability to learn, the capability to analyze, and the time to help users on this forum.
meesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes
Hybrid Mode Hybrid Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 AM.



Home | Advertise | Contact Us | Top
Home | Advertise | Contact Us | Top

Copyrightę 2006 WeLoveCSS.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.4 Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.